Awake In The Night

It’s hot and I can’t sleep.
I try to lie as still as I can,
Bed covers discarded
In a mound at the end of the bed.
Your breath on my back,
Cool and comforting
On my warm skin.
I try counting your breaths
But it only makes me more aware
Of your presence beside me.
I turn to face you;
You sleep so serenely.
I place my hand in your upturned palm
That lies limply on the bed between us.
You stir and close your fingers
Around my hand.
I lay there for a while,
My hand in yours,
And clear my mind of anything
Outside of the present moment.
In time, my eyes feel deliciously heavy.
By morning, I’m sure I dreamt it.

Leave a Reply

