Surface

An inexplicable sadness
I’ve buried deep in my heart
Finds its way to the surface;
A vulnerability 
I’ve chosen to hide
Behind confidence and smiles.
I apologise
For revealing it to you now.
I suddenly felt as though
You needed to hear it:
How my past has shaped my present,
And how I feel about you.
I prepare for you to turn
And leave.
I even close my eyes
To shield myself from the outcome.
As the tears begin to fall,
You envelope me in your arms
And all I feel, then,
Is your warmth,
And your belief in us.

Leave a Reply

