Then I Must Sleep

Mid-kiss, I felt you drifting;
Lips limp, arms heavy.
Sinking into slumber,
Away from me
And the words
I wanted to share.
I said, ‘I need
To tell you something.’
‘Okay,’ you said.
‘Are you listening?’ I said.
‘Yes,’ you said, quietly.
‘I need to tell you
Why loving you
Is so important to me
And how I feel now
Because of you.’
I’d hoped this would make you
Open your eyes.
‘Okay,’ you said,
‘But then I must sleep.’
In the dark, I waited
A few moments
For your breathing
To become heavy, and slow
And before I’d shared
A single word,
I knew I had lost you.

Leave a Reply

