Sunlight

For months, it was easier
To forget I had a heart;
To forget that I had been wounded,
To forget that I had loved at all.
I buried myself
In a blanket of non-feeling,
Absent of emotion.
Then I heard a song
That sank into my skin
Like water on dry earth.
My mind and my body
Welcomed the sound
Like nourishing sunlight.
And you,
Glorious you,
When you hardly knew me at all,
Uncovered my forgotten heart.
You saw my past
As jewels to treasure.
You reached into my troubled self
And held me like a small bird;
Revived.
Loved.

Leave a Reply

