All At Once

I can’t remember
How much time has passed
Since I last saw you.
Yet you are here
And it is strange.
All at once you are different
And exactly the same.
You are the one I loved
But time and places
Have changed you;
Different clothes, hair,
Even your facial expressions
Have altered.
You wear your smile
Differently.
But you are still him.
All at once I want to hold you,
And stay very still and quiet,
Hoping you haven’t noticed me.
All at once, our time together
Plays like a film in my mind,
And yet you are a stranger
Who I might walk past
Without acknowledgment.
Everyone and no one
All at once.
I decide to say hello
And take it from there.

Leave a Reply

