Sleepless Heart

The darkness and silence
Of the night go
On and on and on
Until morning.
Ribs, like fingers, curve
And clasp a heart that beats,
Thudding like rainfall.
Thudding and thudding and thudding.
Caged in bone and giving me life,
I want to hold it in my own hands,
Ask it questions and wait for answers.
Why can’t I sleep tonight
And why is it you who stops me sleeping?
Endlessly beating in my chest,
Reminding me of the inevitability
Of time,
And my inability
To escape it.

Leave a Reply

