Aquarium

There was nothing I could do.
Remember when we went to the aquarium
And stood for a long time 
Watching the fish,
Neither of us speaking.
I imagined what it was like
To live and breathe underwater.
Then we went to get ice cream.
Your tomorrow was always my today.
One step ahead of me,
Just out of my reach.
I often told you to slow down,
Come back to my today
And we’ll see tomorrow together,
But you had already left me behind.
One day, the phone rang
And I ran to the river.
I watched you.
Still on dry land, yet,
Your heart was already drowned.
Then you jumped.
There was nothing I could do.

Leave a Reply

