Detached

Today, the sun shines on the whole world
Though half of us sleep.
I hear a voice in my head
But can no longer determine
If it’s mine or yours.
I remember an afternoon:
You told me, with great care
Over your words,
How my singing made you feel.
You always talked about
How you longed so deeply
To be far away from this place;
Gone, before anyone noticed.
I cling to this memory,
My voice in my head,
Your voice.
My thoughts are detached
From my physical body.
I know I’ve always felt like this
But never put it into words,
In the same way that
Some things have always existed
But not always had a name.

Leave a Reply

