Familiarity

Your hand found my own in the dark 
And held it for a while.
I was sure you were sleeping,
Your breath had become so soft.
I moved into your space and placed
My hand flat on your chest,
My cheek against your shoulder.
Your hand traced the length of my body,
A curved landscape which, tentatively,
You began to explore further,
As if for the first time.
In the dark, I had no eyes
Yet I could see you;
With my hands, my body,
In the space around us.
Vision replaced by familiarity,
I see you clearly in the dark.

Leave a Reply

