Winter Blood

In this cold blue darkness
It’s hard to imagine the colour
Of summer.
Golden light and vibrant green,
Too bright for these grey days.
I hide inside this winter cavern,
Finding new ways to keep the warmth in.
Sluggish blue blood in my veins
Crawls across the kitchen tiles.
I am spread across every room,
My scent in every fibre.
I am in the walls and the floorboards,
Enveloping rooms like smoke.
The windows blink at the low sun,
Heartless and cold to the touch.
Days awaken all too slowly
And so do I.

2 thoughts on “Winter Blood

Leave a Reply

