I’m Looking For

I stay up later than I should
Reading poetry, every night
In bed.
I’m searching for something
To hold onto.
I don’t know if it’s answers I seek
Or just inspiration,
But every night
I wade through pages and pages.
Even while I write this
I have wandered off several times,
Dipping into one piece,
Just reading a line or two,
Flicking to a new one
And reading it very slowly.
I’m looking for the first day of summer
When it’s finally warm
And the days will be long.
I’m looking for waking up
In a different bed,
Those few seconds when
You don’t know where you are,
And wonder if you’re still dreaming.
I’m searching for the sound of life
In the middle of the woods.
I’m looking for pink petals fallen
From a tree,
Covering the ground like confetti.
I’m looking for a way to tell you
I love you.
I’m trying to find
When we look at each other,
Holding each other’s gaze
For just a few moments too long.
Yes, that’s it.
That’s what I’m looking for.

I’m looking for you.

Leave a Reply

