A Single Thing

It upsets me to think
That for me to have a chance
To find happiness again,
I must forget
That you exist.
You set a standard,
That hangs over my days
Like a cloud.
Everyone new
Is compared to you.
Nobody qualifies.
Today, a film about time travel
Made me consider going back,
Changing a few things,
So that tonight, you’d be here
And I wouldnt be alone.
How glorious that could be.
But, in reality, all I can do
Is move on, forwards,
And find a way
To restart the timer,
Starting now.

Given the choice,
Perhaps I wouldn’t change
A single thing.

Leave a Reply

