Sea Secrets

The things you shared with me
That night:
I could tell they were things
You had never shared before.
I watched you pick
Precious fragments,
Like pieces of broken glass
Imbedded in your heart.
You held them out to me
Between cupped hands;
They caught the light.
I took them,
Carefully, one by one,
So as not to cut myself.
You watched me scatter them
Into the ocean.
I knew that, one day,
They would wash up on the shore,
No longer sharp-edged,
But rounded, smoothed
By time and distance.
Coloured stones, treasures now
To be stowed safely in pockets
And shoe boxes.

We’ll stand on the sand
And let the water clean our feet.

3 thoughts on “Sea Secrets

Leave a Reply

