My Words, And Their Ultimate Insignificance

At first, my words settled
Like lilies upon the water’s surface.
They floated in your mind
But never found the root, buried,
Tethered to the river bed.

One day, I felt my words burrow
Beneath your skin, diving,
Like a cormorant, in search of fish.
Pushing against the current,
Wings like dorsal fins.

I was sure my words
Had found your heart,
Had settled there to sleep.
Draped in the warmth of the earth,
Sun-baked beating soil.

But still, my words merely whispered
Through grassy spaces.
They tickled your lips like leaves,
And at last, fell like a tree,
Drowned by the bellow of the wind.

Leave a Reply

