Beauty In The Quiet

It was a cold night.
I was shivering,
I couldn’t find warmth.
You told me 
You’d written me a song.
You wrapped a blanket
And your arms around me
And then played your song to me.
I can’t remember the last time
I felt so warm.

Something happened in between.
Your words lost all meaning.
It took me a while to realise it,
But that’s what happened.
Those words that formed my world
Became meaningless,
And so did I.

The beauty in the quiet
After the music stops.
Fill my head with sound
But keep your lips shut tight.
You wrote a song for me
But I can’t listen to it
Anymore.

2 thoughts on “Beauty In The Quiet

Leave a Reply

