Our Stranger, Our Friend

We all gathered
From near
And from very far indeed
To hear his melodies
And his stories.
Some liked the sound of him
On paper,
And some were glad
To experience him
Again.
“I couldn’t wait to be
In the same room with you
Again,” I admitted, sincerely.
And you sparked in me
Something particular
Once again.
Your sound is so far
From where I am from.
Your song,
Oh your song sends me
To higher ground.
It’s a blessing;
An honour,
To share your sweet quiet.
I am still in this night,
I am hopeful,
I am real.

The music whispers out into the street.
A passerby holds those words close
And shares them with a loved one.

Tonight is a night
Where everyone is filled
With a love
And a gratitide
That only live music
Can bestow upon a person.

Away we go,
Into this light, Sunday night.

Leave a Reply

