Beautiful Surprise

Sitting outside,
Summer warmth seeping
Into the evening.
I’m dizzy with the night,
And the beer that slips down
Too easily.
You’re a beautiful surprise,
And I tell you so.
I drink you in.
Kissing in public.
Your breath on my lips –
Smoky and sweet.
I trace the features
Of your face
With my fingertip;
Committing you to memory
Because I know
That after tonight
I’ll never see you again.
Where do I go from here?
Catch a night bus
To anywhere but home.
I can’t bring myself
To climb into an empty bed
Once again.
The chill in the breeze
Tells me it’s time
To leave this city.

Leave a Reply

