Write It Down

You’re telling me a story.
Slowly, I learn that
It’s not all about
What happened.
Tell me
What you learned
Along the way.
Tell me how you saw it all
And how it made you feel.
Tell me what entered
Your mind
When you entered
A new place.
What emotions were sparked
By your new surroundings?
Where did your thoughts lead –
Did they follow the paths?
Write it all down
Then read it to me.
I want to know
How your heart
Saw it all.
I want to know
If it made you
Think of me.
Write it all down
Then read it to me.
You’re telling me a story.

Leave a Reply

