Depth Perception

You feel so close to me,
Yet I know you’re so very
Far away.
You’re intangible;
A concept,
A memory.
It hard to distiguish
The difference between
Memory and desire.
I hold so much
So close to me.
I wear it all like clothes.
I create a bed
And sleep in it.
Undeniable,
Yet imaginary.
I stretch my arms out
In front of me
But all I feel
Is space,
Whispers of air
Between my fingers.
The last time you kissed me.
The kiss after that
I so fervently desired
Yet never received.
It all floats
In the great body of distance
Between us.

Leave a Reply

