Circle

Come, lay down.
Rest your head on my chest.
I will envelope you
For the rest of the night.

I cannot see you
In the darkness
But I feel the weight of you,
I hear you breathe.

Can you hear my heart?
A calming beat.
Close your eyes.
Listen.

I smell your scent,
Run fingers through your hair.
Stroke your cheek.
Touch your lips.

Sleep, Sweet One,
Hear the beat of my heart.
Embraced, you will be
For the rest of the night.

With my arms, I will draw
A circle around you.
In my arms you will be
Encircled, cherished.

Leave a Reply

