There’s Something About This Night

I’m in the passenger seat.
It’s dark; there is little light. 
There’s something about this night.
We ride through town,
Me, tinged by drink.
You, totally focused.
You put your foot down,
Pinning me back. 
I look to you,
You don’t look to me.

Your hands on the wheel.
I wish they were on me.
We drive on,
Moving through the night.
Music steady,
Heartbeat racing,
I need time
To catch my breath.

There’s something about this night.
Moving so fast,
I feel lost.
The car will stop,
But the world 
Will keep on turning.
Sitting beside you,
This night will never 
End.

Leave a Reply

