The Way It Is Now

You looked different.
I couldn’t decide if it was time
Or my own imagination
That had changed you.
You sounded the same
But when I asked you about things
You had new things to say about them.
We walked for a while and I had to suppress the urge
To disappear into the crowd
While your back was turned.
The way it is now
And the way it used to be
Are separated by a fine line
Of decisions
And time passing.
We sit at one table
As two people
Poised between past times spent together
And future times spent apart.
Saddened, but peaceful,
I fell with the night.

A kiss on the cheek.
Then I turned, and walked
Towards the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

