I Hope You Know

‘It’s not all about you, you know.’
But it is.
All these songs I’ve sung
And all these words I’ve written,
It’s all you.
Sometimes I use language
To amplify my feelings
So that the real pain
Feels smaller.
It’s my way of soothing my soul.
I’m writing down my heart.
If I bring it to life
And make it into something new
A little part of me
Is set free.
I hope you know it’s all you.
If not, look closer next time.
Read the words,
Hear my voice.

I need to remember that
Life is long,
And you’ll be back one day.
But for now, hear my song,
Savour my words.
I’ll be writing down my heart
For you to read.

Leave a Reply

