Happy To Be Here

Things are different at night.
Take the light away
And we are submerged
And sightless.
Hear, smell and taste it.
Then, bring the lights up a little
And I see you.
I see the people around you,
But they blur with the room.
I can taste the salt on your skin.
You smile with your eyes.
I wonder how much heart
Lies behind them.
You know I have laid my heart
Before you
Like a dress,
Like porcelain.
You reach out and touch my arm.
The only comfort comes from the warmth
Of your palm.
I sit back in my seat and think about The night,
Porcelain,
A dress.

I’m happy to be here.
I’m just not sure
I’ll ever be
Here
Again.

Leave a Reply

