Nights Like These

You smiled at me as if you had just been kissed. It was like you were standing there waiting for me to take a picture of you, but I didn’t have a camera. My heart ticked by like a clock and I wondered if, after today, I would ever see you again. The light was fading now, and I waited for your palm to embrace mine.
We walked for a while along the riverside without saying much at all. I could see you watching the city lights hit the water and you didn’t need to say it out loud for me to know how much it pleased you. Love is a real thing, but it’s difficult to grasp on nights like these. These nights feel as though they could last forever and it wouldn’t matter. These nights buzz with possibilities and blur with the unknown. I stop in my tracks and wish that, for just one moment, I could know for sure what will happen.

Leave a Reply

