‘Somewhere inside of me there will always be the person I am tonight.’

Too good to be true –
That’s what I say to myself
Every time something
Goes right for me.
Every time I feel
Light-headed with happiness,
It’s too good to be true.
But tonight,
I’m sore from pinching myself.
I haven’t woken up,
Because I’m not asleep.
You’re here.
There you are.
I have to keep saying it
In my head.
How beautiful.
Your lips.
Your eyes.
Your face fills me
With profound joy.
I sit before you
In disbelief
At the very fact
That you’re before me.
How lucky I am.
The way you’re looking at me
Now,
Here,
I love you.
How lucky I am
To love you
Now,
Here.
For however long
We can love
I will be happy.
I wish this night,
This feeling,
This happiness,
Could last until
I sleep
For the final time.
Oh, but how comforted I am;
How overwhelmed I will remain
By this night.
No matter where I go
Or who I become,
Somewhere inside of me
There will always be the person
I am tonight.

(Title from ‘Tender is the Night’ by F. Scott Fitzgerald)

2 thoughts on “‘Somewhere inside of me there will always be the person I am tonight.’

Leave a Reply

