Lost

You disappeared into the crowd.
I could not find you.
I searched for an hour,
But you were nowhere.
I went home, hoping to find you there,
But you were not.

I lay in bed for days.
In my dreams, I hear the front door
Open and close.
You stand in the doorway
You fall to your knees and weep.
I fall with you and hold you so tightly.
I watch you eat a hot meal
And then you tell your story.
Tears fall once more, and I hold you.
I rock you in my arms, like a child.
I will keep you safe now.
I will keep you safe.
I will keep you safe.

I wake to find you,
Gone.

I will wait for you.
I will find you.
You will come home.

Leave a Reply

