Nephew

Six weeks and 5 days ago, I went from being daughter Claire and sister Claire to Auntie Claire. Now I have a nephew and he’s so little. He’s so delightful and bright. He lays on the floor and kicks his little legs and wiggles his little arms and makes lovely little baby sounds. I lie next to him and we have a little baby chat and he grips my finger in his hand and gives me the most beautiful little smiles I’ve ever seen. This brand new little person and he’s smiling.
Sometimes when he’s sleeping on my chest, I feel his warmth and his gentle breaths, and I’m nearly crying because I can hardly believe he’s real and I’m holding him and he’s asleep on me. I can’t wait to watch him grow and change and find out what makes him laugh and what he likes to do. But for now, I cherish every moment of him as a baby. His mind seems to awaken every day. You can see him trying to understand things and experiencing things for the very first time in his life. The love I feel for him is overwhelming. Such a beautiful, pure, tiny person.

IMG_0285.JPG
11 days old

IMG_0568.JPG
Today

2 thoughts on “Nephew

Leave a Reply

