This Isn’t About You

The music plays and I wonder if you ever told me you loved me
And didn’t mean it.
I wonder if, when I told you I loved you,
Your heart felt the same way to hear it,
As mine did to say it.
But this isn’t about you.

Beautiful people walking around,
Falling in love,
Forgetting their fears.
Finding a place that feels like home.
Finding a person who notices the way their face changes when they have an idea,
Or when they’re just about to smile.
But this isn’t about you.

I’m sitting here and it’s like I never really knew you at all.
It’s like you were a vivid dream.
A dream so vivid, it felt so real.
A beautiful dream.
But just a dream.
I open my eyes and you are gone.
This isn’t about you anymore.
This is about me,
And my days without you.

The music plays, and it fades,
To nothing.

Leave a Reply

