Sail On, Silver Girl

I’ve seen most of these places in my dreams.
Disjointed and unclear;
The sun is too bright.
The days I live in dazzle me,
I have to close my eyes.
The light rests on my eyelids,
But I do not feel its warmth.
I do not feel any warmth.
You are there,
You are beautiful.
These things I know, eyes open
Or eyes closed.
You are the light.
My light.
But you need to burn
Brightly, like the moon
Over a still, midnight sea.
And the night is drawing over me.
So prise your heart from my cold fingers and sail away,
Silver Girl,
Sail on into the night.

Leave a Reply

