‘Forget what I need, give me what I want, and it should be fine’

I can feel you tiptoe around me.
I know your footsteps are tentative and soft.
You think you know what I need.
And perhaps you’re right.
Perhaps I feel braver than I should.
But stop.
Stomp a little louder, my friend.
Make the ground shake.
Crush my little toe.
I’m done with the past.
I don’t know what the future holds.
So I’m living in the present.
Moment to moment.
Every sensation.
Every idea.
Everything.
Right here in the now.
Why don’t you join me?
Forget what I need.
Give me what I want.
You.

(Inspired by quote in title from ‘Prime’ by Allie X)

Leave a Reply

