‘I’m a little bit home but I’m not there yet’

I’ve had an idea for a blog bubbling away in the back of my mind for a few days now, and I’ve just tried to write it but it was so incredibly boring, I scrapped it. I still think it’s a good idea but I think I’m gonna put it on the shelf and let it stew and pull it out again when it’s sorted itself out.
I have also wanted to give a blog this title, a lyric from Ingrid Michaelson’s ‘Girls Chase Boys’, (which I listened to for the first time here: http://theleanorigby.wordpress.com [thank you, Elaine]) for a long time, and I feel ready to do that now, because I’m in the right place. I’ve been through a bit of bother these last few months and I didn’t handle it well at all. I’m not going to go into detail but let’s say I had a tricky time of it. But now, things seem to have settled. My heart seems to have calmed down. My emotions aren’t so erratic. I have things to focus on. The sun has come out, which I think has helped. Perhaps I was just lacking in Vitamin D. But I’m also reading novels again, and I’m writing every day, I’m singing, and the World Cup is exciting. I’m not quite there yet, but I can feel my old self coming back. I’m a little bit home.
Do bruises tan? I have a big bruise on my leg and I’m worried that after it fades, I’m going to have a patch of untanned skin on my upper thigh that is remarkably similar in shape to Ukraine. (I looked at a map of the world to see which country it most closely resembles and it’s definitely Ukraine.)
I spent a long time lying in a paddling pool in the sunshine today which was rather blissful. Sun beating down on my face and upper body while tummy and legs were all nice and cool under the freezing-at-first-but-you-get-used-to-it water. I wasn’t doing anything productive or useful but I was so happy, and I think that’s really all that matters.

Leave a Reply

