Matters of the Heart

“The heart comprises less than 0.5 percent of the total body weight.”

That’s not much at all. So why is it that when you’re in love with someone, you can feel an almost tangible glow, a warmth, emanating from within your core.

And when you receive an emotional blow, it knocks you down and consumes you to the point that you feel you like you may never be able to stand upright again?

It’s odd how we associate feeling and emotion with the heart. The heart is an organ; a muscle, that mechanically pulses and pumps a metallic substance called blood around the body. If that mechanism stops working, our brain stops functioning and we die.

Why is it, then, that I know in my heart that I love him?

And my heart is broken.

If my heart were actually broken, I’d be dead. Or dying.

And all those songs.

My heart will go on and on.

You make me smile with my heart.

Your heart is an empty room.

Total eclipse of the heart.

That one sounds dangerous.

Emotion is difficult to grasp and to explain. It’s not tangible, and yet it’s the most vivid thing we will experience in our lives. Therefore, I think it makes us feel better if we can have some control over this strange concept, and put it in a place where we can keep an eye on it. And that place happens to be the heart. It is at our centre; in our core. Right in the heart of us. And without it, we would feel nothing at all.

“The average weight of a female human heart is 9 ounces and a male’s heart is 10.5 ounces.”

So, Conor Oberst, when you say:

“And I know you have a heavy heart; I can feel it when we kiss
So many men stronger than me have thrown their backs out trying to lift it”

I don’t believe you. You, technically, have the heavier heart. You just don’t want to admit it.

Leave a Reply

